- What "Passing" Actually Means for CCBSO Candidates
- The 70% Threshold: What It Covers and What It Doesn't
- How the Exam Is Scored and Reported
- What a 70% Pass Requires Across the 13 Learning Objectives
- Registration, Fees, and the Real Cost of Missing 70%
- Closed-Book Conditions That Shape Your Score
- Building a Study Plan Around the Passing Line
- Fee and Retake Comparison
- FAQs
- The published passing threshold for CCBSO is 70% - there is no disclosed credential-specific pass rate.
- Exact question count, scored/unscored split, and item format are not publicly disclosed by ICBA.
- The exam is closed book, timed, and delivered online with immediate results.
- Miss 70% and a retake is published for August 20, 2026; a second failure requires repeating the Institute and exam.
What "Passing" Actually Means for CCBSO Candidates
If you're preparing for the Certified Community Bank Security Officer (CCBSO) credential through ICBA Education's Bank Security Institute, the single most important number to understand is 70%. That is the published passing threshold for the CCBSO examination. Everything else - your study schedule, your note-taking, your review of each learning objective - exists to get you comfortably above that line, not just to it.
What makes CCBSO different from many other professional exams is how little else is disclosed alongside that threshold. ICBA has not publicly released the exact number of scored questions, whether any items are unscored field-test questions, or the specific item format (multiple choice, scenario-based, or a mix). The exam is confirmed to be delivered online through ICBA's testing portal, and it is closed book with no outside materials or assistance permitted. Beyond that, candidates are preparing against published learning objectives rather than a detailed scoring rubric.
The 70% Threshold: What It Covers and What It Doesn't
The 70% passing score is the only hard number ICBA has published about scoring outcomes for CCBSO. There is no publicly disclosed credential-specific pass rate for this exam. ICBA has made a general statement that more than 95% of candidates across its certification programs succeed, but that figure is an organization-wide statistic - it is not a CCBSO first-attempt pass rate, and it should not be treated as one. If you want a deeper look at how pass-rate claims should (and shouldn't) be interpreted for this specific credential, see our breakdown in CCBSO Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.
What the 70% threshold tells you is simple: you need to demonstrate competency across the material covered by the Institute, not just clear a low bar on a handful of easy items. Because no domain weighting has been verified or published, there's no official indication that one learning objective is worth more points than another. That means the smartest prep approach treats all 13 published learning objectives as fair game rather than trying to guess which ones are "high yield."
Key Takeaway
Don't try to reverse-engineer a weighted scoring model from a 70% passing line. No official domain weights exist for CCBSO - prepare broadly across all 13 learning objectives instead of concentrating narrowly on a guessed-at "most important" topic.
How the Exam Is Scored and Reported
A few mechanics are confirmed, even though the full scoring methodology is not published:
- Delivery: The exam is administered online through ICBA's portal, with no external testing or proctoring vendor independently verified.
- Format rigor: It is a closed-book, uninterrupted, timed sitting - no outside materials or assistance allowed.
- Results: Candidates receive immediate results after completing the exam, so you won't wait weeks to find out whether you cleared 70%.
- Duration: The August 2026 Institute agenda schedules the exam itself as a 105-minute cohort block (10-11:45 a.m. on the designated testing day), but this is tied to that specific cohort's agenda and is not confirmed as a universal timer applied to every administration.
Because scored versus unscored item splits aren't disclosed, treat every question on the exam as though it counts. There's no public evidence of pilot or experimental items being excluded from your score, so pacing yourself to answer everything carefully - rather than rushing to "bank time" for a section you assume matters more - is the more defensible strategy.
What a 70% Pass Requires Across the 13 Learning Objectives
CCBSO preparation is built around 13 published ICBA Institute learning objectives. These are issuer-course preparation topics - not an official weighted or exhaustive examination blueprint - but they are the clearest public roadmap to what the exam draws from. For a full breakdown of each one with study context, see CCBSO Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 13 Content Areas. Below is a condensed view of the areas most candidates need to shore up to comfortably clear 70%.
Domain 1: Regulation H, Supervision, and Training Requirements
Candidates must understand what Regulation H requires of the security officer role, along with staff supervision duties and training obligations.
- Know the security officer's regulatory responsibilities, not just general bank policy
Domain 6: Robbery Preparedness
This objective covers the key steps to prepare your bank and staff for a robbery event - procedural readiness, not just reactive response.
- Be able to outline pre-incident preparation steps, not only what to do during an active robbery
Domain 9 & Domain 10: Crime Scenes and Post-Incident Interviews
Recognizing when you actually have a crime scene, and understanding the components of conducting an interview after an incident, are distinct but related skills tested separately.
- Don't conflate "securing a scene" with "conducting an interview" - know both as separate processes
Domain 13: Cash-Intensive Business Onboarding
Recognizing security gaps when working with cash-intensive businesses and onboarding casinos, private ATM operators, or marijuana-related businesses is its own learning objective - a topic many candidates underestimate.
- Study this as a distinct risk category, separate from general fraud or embezzlement material
Other objectives - observation skills for detecting threats (Domain 2), reading body language in confrontations (Domain 3), spotting embezzlement warning signs (Domain 4), media-communication dos and don'ts (Domain 5), physical security enhancements (Domain 7), scientific case-solving methodology (Domain 8), board security reporting (Domain 11), and records retention (Domain 12) - round out the full list. A candidate aiming for 70% or higher cannot afford to skip any of these, since no official weighting tells you which ones matter less.
If you want a structured way to work through all 13 in sequence with practice questions, our CCBSO Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt walks through each one in issuer page order.
Registration, Fees, and the Real Cost of Missing 70%
Scoring below 70% isn't just a study setback - it has real financial consequences tied to ICBA's published 2026 pricing. These are retained 2026 prices, not a next-cohort quotation, but they give you a clear picture of what's at stake.
- The exam fee itself is published at $500, with no member/non-member distinction.
- Required Bank Security Institute tuition is $1,699 for ICBA members and $2,199 for non-members.
- Combined tuition-plus-test totals come to $2,199 (member) or $2,699 (non-member).
- A separate non-banker tuition category of $2,699 exists, subject to approval.
A published retake is scheduled for August 20, 2026 for candidates who don't clear 70% on their first attempt. However, if you fail a second time, the requirement escalates: you must repeat the full Institute and exam, not just the test. That means a second miss can mean paying full tuition again. For a complete breakdown of every fee category and how they stack, read CCBSO Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Closed-Book Conditions That Shape Your Score
Because the CCBSO exam is closed book with no outside materials or assistance permitted, your 70% has to come entirely from what you've internalized - not from notes, reference sheets, or lookup tools during the test. Calculator availability and adaptivity details aren't publicly verified, so don't assume either will be available to lean on.
This closed-book, uninterrupted format also means pacing matters more than it might on an open-resource exam. With exam duration specifics unverified beyond the cohort-specific 105-minute block noted on the Institute agenda, candidates should practice working through scenario-style questions without pausing to "look something up," since that option won't exist on test day.
If you're unsure whether your current prep habits match the actual rigor of this exam, our guide on How Hard Is the CCBSO Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 digs into what makes the closed-book, single-sitting format challenging for first-time candidates.
Building a Study Plan Around the Passing Line
You don't need an elaborate study system to clear 70% - you need consistent coverage of all 13 learning objectives before your Institute dates and exam day. Here's a simple way to structure the weeks leading up to the August 2026 testing window, pairing light spaced review with full-length practice attempts on our CCBSO practice test platform.
Regulatory & Procedural Foundations
- Review Domain 1 (Regulation H, supervision, training) and Domain 6 (robbery preparedness) since both carry heavy procedural detail
- Take an initial diagnostic set of practice questions to identify weak objectives early
Threat Recognition & Behavioral Topics
- Work through Domains 2-5 (observation skills, confrontation body language, embezzlement warning signs, media communication)
- Practice scenario-based questions under closed-book, timed conditions to mirror exam day
Investigative & Reporting Objectives
- Cover Domains 7-12: physical security enhancements, case-solving methodology, crime scene recognition, post-incident interviews, board reporting, and records retention
- Re-test earlier objectives to confirm retention, not just first-pass familiarity
Full Review & Cash-Intensive Business Gaps
- Finish with Domain 13 (cash-intensive businesses, casino/ATM/marijuana-related onboarding), often the least-reviewed objective
- Run full-length timed practice sessions and confirm your registration and testing agreement details are complete
This sequencing is one reasonable structure, not an official ICBA schedule - adjust pacing based on your own baseline knowledge of security operations. Candidates coming from a bank security or compliance background may move faster through Domains 1, 11, and 12; those newer to physical security operations may need more time on Domains 6, 7, and 13.
Fee and Retake Comparison
| Item | Member Cost | Non-Member Cost |
|---|---|---|
| Exam fee only | $500 | $500 |
| Institute tuition | $1,699 | $2,199 |
| Tuition + exam combined | $2,199 | $2,699 |
| Non-banker tuition (approval required) | $2,699 | |
| Published retake date | August 20, 2026 | |
| Second failure consequence | Must repeat full Institute and exam | |
For context on exam scheduling windows and how the Institute's August 2026 agenda lines up with testing and retake dates, see CCBSO Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
Key Takeaway
A second failed attempt doesn't just cost another $500 exam fee - it means repeating the entire Institute, effectively doubling your tuition investment. Treat your first attempt as the one that counts.
Before You Can Even Sit for the Score
It's worth noting that passing 70% is only possible after meeting CCBSO's prerequisites: basic bank-security knowledge, full Institute attendance with completed assignments, and separate exam registration under its own testing agreement. There's no verified degree, work-experience-hour, or reference requirement - the Institute course itself awards 19.5 CPE rather than gating eligibility by a separate clock-hour threshold. Full detail on what's required before exam day is covered in CCBSO Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
Once certified, maintaining your CCBSO requires $150 annually plus 15 relevant CPE per two-year cycle (at least half live), starting the year after certification - a separate ongoing requirement from the one-time passing score itself.
Practicing With the Right Expectations
Because question count, scored/unscored splits, and exact item format aren't publicly disclosed, the most reliable way to build exam-day confidence is repeated exposure to realistic practice questions across all 13 learning objectives - not memorizing a leaked blueprint that doesn't exist. Working through timed, closed-book-style practice sets on our CCBSO practice test platform helps you build the pacing instincts you'll need, since you won't get a second chance to "look something up" mid-exam.
Use a mix of review and self-testing rather than passive rereading. If you're also weighing whether the credential is worth the tuition and time investment before committing to a testing cycle, our analysis in Is the CCBSO Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 and our CCBSO Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts are both useful companion resources alongside full-length practice attempts on our practice platform.
The published passing threshold is 70%. ICBA has not disclosed a credential-specific pass rate, so you won't find a public percentage showing how many candidates clear that line on their first try.
The exact question count, scored-versus-unscored breakdown, and official item format have not been publicly disclosed by ICBA. What is confirmed is that the exam is delivered online and is closed book.
A retake is published for August 20, 2026. If you fail a second time, you must repeat the entire Institute and exam rather than just retesting, which typically means paying full tuition again.
No. The exam is closed book, with no outside materials or assistance permitted, delivered as an uninterrupted timed sitting with immediate results provided after completion.
There is no official, verified domain weighting for the CCBSO exam. All 13 published Institute learning objectives should be treated as potentially testable material rather than ranked by assumed importance.